Sierra vs. Virgo 1:0

Shit happens really. There is a magazine about games in Czech republic (popular in Slovakia too) called Score. It’s a good one – you can find like 3 or 4 full games in every issue and a lot of demos, etc. I like it. And I don’t think my “tragedy” is their fault. What happened? Well – one of those games was Caesar III. And because I’m fan of economic strategies I decided to play it (I played Caesar II like 12 years ago :-)). Why the hell that game needs to be installed with Sierra Utilities? And why it must have “sierra” directory as a parent for the game?! Whatever… 1999 was a long time ago.

So I started to play but after a mere day I was frustrated by prefects going far from their home building what results in a fire in buildings around that should be guarded by that prefect. Why someone invent “citizens that moves around” when it affects game so bad? I lost my patience and decided to uninstall. Sierra Utils asked me if I want to remove some files (%s – hard to know what it had meant) and I clicked Yes. What a surprise that I lost most of my games directory (but why not all of it? what was the key?). Files left behind were just a torso of my game dir.

Screw the Sierra (and I said it nicely) – later I found various references via google – this one probably says it all.

So avoid Sierra Utilities. And in case you fail like I did (too much trust in games with otherwise good reputation) I can only recommend this NTFS Undelete tool. Today it was actually second time it saved my… well not life really. 😉 But you know what I mean. And this one I can recommend – which I hardly can say about anything with Sierra on it. Sierra screwed big time today. And maybe that’s the reason why I don’t see them in the business – at least I can’t recall anything with their logo in last… many years. That’s good.

I wish you nice evening and no data losses!

About virgo47
Java Developer by profession in the first place. Gamer and amateur musician. And father too. Naive believer in brighter future. Step by step.

Leave a Reply

