Prison Break Redemption

It’s now some time ago when I started to watch Prison Break. You know – words, recommendations… hype. And it was great actually. From the start. I was kinda surprised that semi-genius Michael can’t remember all those plans but whatever… tattoo was cool. At the start. When I realized that he wants to plan his escape throughout the whole first season I was even able to pardon him some (for me) unnecessary story complications. Hm – when I read last sentence after myself it seems that I personify the whole show into Michael himself – which is partially true. I was often tired of his new ideas although he always was rather the brighter side of the whole story. I considered Prison Break to be great – from the start – and I still thought that it’s a good show towards the end of the season. What bothered me was their escape itself. With all those cars behind at the very end of the season 1 it was really unbelievable they didn’t get caught right at the very beginning of the second season.

Second season was major problem for me really. Mahone was nice addition, politics background was nice touch too. But what to say about absurdly stupid final deeds of Veronica? What to say about just another episode with Michael using his tattoos? Why so many people did so many things on their own without telling anyone? But what I disliked the most on the whole show – or who – it was T-Bag. His tongue drove me crazy after some time. Strange thing was that while the other escapees wanted to kill him while he was bound to Michael they somehow forgot to do so after his hand was cut off. Strange. Short memory perhaps. Or his strong aura of some kind… I don’t know. He single-handedly killed probably more people than Mahone during his hunt. T-Bag simply was my allergen. Also other things concerned me – Bellick’s IQ seemed to be much higher in the second season. Too many people did too many unexpected things. Don’t get me wrong, I like surprises – but I’d like to believe them first.

Finally in the third season (that I watched rather habitually) came that moment – Sara’s death. I stopped. Yeah, I know (now) that she’s not dead (probably). I believe they will revive her better way than Bobby was revived in Dallas. 😉 Anyway – Prison Break was by far the biggest disappointment from all series I started to watch. And in those desperate times sudden redemption came to save me – The Shawshank Redemption – to be precise.

Movie is older than Prison Break although not that much – it’s from 1995. Knowing this I have to admit that it felt a bit old-schoolish – can’t say exactly why. I can’t recall any special effects, I can’t recall anything that couldn’t be filmed in 80ties or even sooner. Also the plot time frame helped it a lot. Instead of effects I saw touching story that probably is not so catchy like in many present movies. I like the way how Andy works his way in the prison, how he gains respect throughout the film. I like how smart he is but I ultimately like that he’s the good guy. 🙂 Not perfect, not altruistic over the top – but nice. How he’s strong to stay that way and not to bend after a while like probably the most inmates do. I don’t want to spoil it too much so I leave further details out. I like this movie – it’s slower in pace but after all it tells the whole Prison Break in around 140 minutes. It’s build upon great acting, simple yet strong story and it gives you hope in the end. You might not like it of course, there is no film for everyone – but I like it and I can clearly recommend it. And when it comes to Prison Break and you rather watch Redemption instead – you’ll save a lot of your life time really. 😉 (Even with Sara revived.)

About virgo47
Java Developer by profession in the first place. Gamer and amateur musician. And father too. Naive believer in brighter future. Step by step.

One Response to Prison Break Redemption

  1. Pingback: Stargate, DS9 and other Heroes « Virgo's Naive Stories

Leave a Reply

