Installing Java… in doubts

Of course I have no serious doubts about Java. But often when I install new version on Windows they get back to me. This is how Installer screen looks like:

I hope you know what I mean. Jittered picture in the left corner, more jittered in the right corner and that OpenOffice promotion… geez, I hope more people will not hate OpenOffice because of this ugly screen. 🙂 Sometimes I am nitpicking – but this time I don’t see this as a little detail. It’s 2008, 13 years after Java launched and virtually anybody’s little project has much nicer (yet perhaps simpler) splash-screens and/or installers. Maybe it’s just my computer and/or Windows XP, but I don’t buy it, really. Even than it’s only Java installer that looks so ugly! In moments like this I really appreciate that self-extracting command-line installation on Solaris/Linux.

As a side-note to “Java on desktop” topic: I’ve also recently read news about the future of SwingX API and I’m a bit worried. I ask myself what’s the future of Java on desktop? It was never a complete success story, but it was still better and better. Now I’m not sure. And that ugly installer only makes me think even worse about it. Still – I’m a Java professional – but imagine how scarred must common users be! 😉

About virgo47
Java Developer by profession in the first place. Gamer and amateur musician. And father too. Naive believer in brighter future. Step by step.

One Response to Installing Java… in doubts

  1. yeah, that’s a well known quirk of people from Sun Microsystems, they do an awesome job with Java platform. Many many man-hours go to development of such a great platform and everything and they willingly spoil their good name with such incredibly easy-to-fix details… and it’s our job to point it out and complain! thanks for this post Virgo,
    Sam, Bratislava, SK

Leave a Reply

