Steam doesn’t like me… again

I don’t know why I’m so lucky . I started the computer but for some unknown reason Windows XP just didn’t want to start any program for me. Not even Ctrl+Alt+Delete worked. Not even Turn Off Computer. Otherwise it just looked OK. I even noticed bubble saying that Steam is updating EVE Online. God knows why EVE is so stupidly updated in Steam. I have already patch 1.1 of Dominion. Yesterday I patched to 1.1.1 and it was like 5 megabytes. Now today Steam was obviously downloading more megabytes. I’m even convinced I turned off updating for this game. But who knows…

Back to computer problem. I pressed reset – harsh but not my fault after all.

After another reboot, computer was OK, but Steam said it couldn’t connect. Of course – it couldn’t go to Offline mode either. Steam NEVER went to Offline mode when I needed – and I really don’t know why. Steam website seems to be OK. So I decided to search a bit. I hit troubleshooting link on the error dialog (the one offering Offline mode too). First time I timed out, second time I got to what was expected. FAQs about network issues. But there are no actual network issues!

Funny thing is that whether I hit Retry connection or Start in Offline Mode, the error is still the same: Could not connect …blablabla. And behind this window there is another one saying: “The operation cannot be completed when Steam is in offline mode.”

I went to their forums and wanted to search for other tips. To my surprise, blank page with error message was the result:
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 268435456 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 71 bytes) in /valve/www/forums.steampowered.com/forums/search.php on line 1034

I – poor stupid user – blamed myself for querying with a long string, went back to repeat with shorter – yet the page told me: “This forum requires that you wait 60 seconds between searches. Please try again in 44 seconds.” By the way – the same message appears even when Steam tells you only that “could” is too common and should not be used, ergo no search was performed at all. I tried more keywords later, but often the result was – no results at all. I consider their forum search pretty much unusable and I miss full-text search. What should I search for when I think that “Steam couldn’t connect because of some other non-network issue”. Or why I can’t search for “offline mode doesn’t work”. Is it “offline mode malfunction”? I seriously doubt many users use word “malfunction” in their problem post. I’m pretty sure – on the other hand – you can see “doesn’t work” a lot.

Isn’t it beautiful to have games for hundreds of Euros unavailable because of some stupid Steam issues? I told it before – Steam is supposed to be client for simple users as well. I pity them if they have to resolve any issue like this by themselves. For most of them there is only one option -reinstallation. That just sucks.

Actually – I believe that pirates are lucky guys who have much less problems playing their games. I don’t know what troubles I would hit using Impulse more often. On the other hand Impulse is run byStardock – a company that issued The Gamer’s Bill of Rights. I’m convinced that Steam/Valve should do better to make their client more robust and failure safe.

(The little tragedy is that I often hear that Steam is one of the top products in its category. I’m afraid it’s true.)

Edit: Problem was obviously on the server side which means it really was network problem. It was resolved soon “by itself” from my perspective. It – however – doesn’t change anything on the fact that I was unsuccessfull with Offline mode.

About virgo47
Java Developer by profession in the first place. Gamer and amateur musician. And father too. Naive believer in brighter future. Step by step.

Leave a Reply

