My last two years with technology

I’ve been quite busy lately – hence the pause in my blogging. My last post was very specific Java related article, today we’re going to do something lighter – a little whine about various devices, gizmos and maybe even software/services I’ve encountered during the last two years. While generally I love our age for the current level of technology, sometimes I’m desperate seeing unnecessary flaws, often just software ones – and these can seriously affect the final experience. However, today I decided to add a lot of good examples, too, and every case should be short (though I’m bad at keeping stuff short ;-)).

BTW: Now I see that this is actually sort of continuation of this post.

Phone case: HTC One V

I like Android phones in general. And I like both my Wildfire and One V – however they both have quite funny flaws. Wildfire’s display is unresponsive when I pull it out of my pocket while ringing (that’s why I call back my friends right after I can’t pick them up) and One V – for a change – is very quite in-call. In both cases those are quite crucial phone related issues – and in both cases many people observe the same (but not all). Other than that – on Wildfire (2.x Android) I liked that default HTC clock application showed time of the next alarm and this view was removed from newer OS. Of course One V is faster and better in overall, but still… 3 out of 5 stars. Both.

Partition case: EASEUS Partition Master Home Edition

I wanted some free legal replacement for Partition Magic – and I found this. It may not be all-powered tool for every thing around partitions, but it did anything I wanted and so far never failed. Partitions smaller or bigger? Merge partitions? (Here it actually needs enough space on the partition you are going to merge to for all the files from the other partition – but that’s rather a non-issue.) System copied to my new SSD disk? No problem. Using Windows repair process took much longer after that. 😉 5/5! For free? Yes!

Disc case: SSD drives (Crucial M4 in my case)

Talking about SSD – well, technically it is indeed non-disk, but you know how it goes. SSD generally is fast, of course, but also cheap enough nowadays – so to put there your system volume at least is a really good idea. I did so and my computer runs and starts programs much faster. This is currently probably the best boost you can get for your money. CPU or memory or GPU? Phew… SSD made my computer fleet-footed. I can’t say more really, I somehow decided one day, checked the prices, cross-referenced all the new names for me (like Crucial, never heard of them before!), reviews were good, so I bought this one. And I’m not even having SATA3 on my mobo. 5/5

Java case: Spring JdbcTemplate

When I can I program against standard APIs – like JPA2 instead of Hibernate. When I can. Sometimes you need to go through the select cursor-style and while I could use underlying Hibernate, I decided to go straight for JDBC. And I wrote all the code. With ifs and wheres and parameters. After a couple of hours, I was done, piece was tested and then it hit me! “Man, there is supposed to be that Spring class making it much easier!” JdbcTemplate made the job, I didn’t have to write my ifs twice (first to get the query, then the parameters again), all the exceptions were handled for me and there was even every case you could think about how to process the result set (in my case callback for every row of it). This is how I like stuff made. Documentation clear… actually I mostly just let IDEA to offer me the choices and I made them right there the right way thanks to proper names. Love that. 5/5

JavaScript case: File download plugin for jQuery

Check what this plugin is about – and also its demo. Users sometimes want silly things like “can you disable the button after I press download…” (sure I can!) “…and then after download enable it again?” (are you crazy?!) But you can do it with this plugin based on hidden iframe and a cookie. I had to adjust it a bit because I had a corner case (but quite common) that there were no data and no download, which is third case from user’s perspective in addition to success and (server) failure. I’m no JavaScript expert, on the contrary – but I fell in love with jQuery in the process. And however silly HTTP is for delivering applications, things like jQuery and this plugin make it more bearable (though HTML5 and things like WebSocket mend a lot of my 10-year old concerns). For this plugin and the whole idea – 5/5.

Command-line case: GNU tools for Windows – GnuWin

I never liked all that CygWin heavy-weighted stuff, but GnuWin packages made my day. I just installed them, added c:\Program Files (x86)\GnuWin\bin into my PATH (they all go to the same dir, luckily) and stared cmd just to enjoy grep (package grep), awk (gawk), ls (and many more in coreutils), zip/unzip/gzip/tar/bzip2 and of course sed! Mentioning typical Unix/Linux tools – you may also like (not related to GnuWin) vim, though I’m happy with notepad2 for most cases (read second half of this post). But you never know when you need vim’s macros. But yeah, these are not really command line tools in Windows. GnuWin packages definitely are and they deserve 5/5 for making my life easier.

Windows environment case: Rapid Environment Editor

After so many times heading into System, Advanced, bla-bla, setting the PATH in that super short line I realized “there must be a better way and someone must have already fixed this”. Yes, they have – with Rapid Environment Editor. Adding new paths with this tool is just so much better, it checks whether the path is valid – even with other variables you are referencing (if those are paths, like JAVA_HOME for instance). No more needs to be added: 5/5

Corporate tool case: Planview

For me Planview is just a tool to report my hours. I don’t use its powerful project management features. And every time I need some report out of it I don’t understand the language it is speaking to me. This tool one of those tools forgetting that they are not my only primary tools I use. Honestly, I openly hate it. Terms out of other world, a lot of misuses of the application (not only mine actually), tons of discussion how we should use it – and still we’re not using it the right way. Personally – I blame the tool. I can use Jira, Confluence and many other tools without any problem, but Planview is simply killing me. 1/5 (and yup, it’s IE only)

More-than-a-mail case: Lotus Notes

Lotus – I think this is love or hate thing, but however defended by people who like it, it is still viewed as pain by the vast majority of users. My Lotus for instance doesn’t display mouse cursor in mail editor when it’s not focused window, wrongly shows which tab is selected when two are opened at once, pastes Excel tables is as image by default and there are many other silly defaults. Date you see in trash is trash date, not the date of the message? You can’t reply to mail in your sent mail?! My contacts get often screwed by some cashing I don’t understand and don’t care at all. Not to mention it doesn’t look like normal Windows application (not that I’m a big fan of Windows, but still). Once a colleague closed Notes by accident and I just thought it funny to remark “see, stupid Lotus Notes” – just because whatever bad happens there is kinda Notes’ fault. I read people testifying how Notes rocks, etc. But these people live in the closed world of Lotus. Linux guys can hate Outlook, but it is really usable. Lotus? As a mail and calendar? Not a chance here… 2/5

Blu-ray case: Samsung BD-E6100

Recently I’ve got myself a blu-ray player (finally). I wanted Samsung, because my TV is Samsung, price was alright, I chose model with wi-fi, brought it home and after some initial scare (it didn’t play any disk first, I had to unplug it and after this kind of restart it was fine) I was happy about its performance, speed and everything, especially compared to our older DVD player (newer Philips luckily have remotes for common people too, not only for snipers). I managed to play content from computers (with Serviio installed, though SRT subtitles don’t work unexpectedly) and remote control provided four crucial buttons for TV (on/off, Source, volume up/down) – actually many of buttons from Samsung TV remote work as well (expected). After some time I decided to plug ethernet cable in though, because wi-fi often lost the connection to the router (our notebooks never have the problem, even from the same place). Even with ethernet most of the Smart HUB stuff is quite slow. In overall it was a big upgrade compared to DVD player and I was actually surprised how well it works and plays. And Smart stuff? They still might upgrade it somehow and I didn’t buy it for that anyway. 4/5
Edit 2014:
I’d lower the rating to 3/5 after thorough experience. Compared to previous DVD player it does not continue where it ended when turned on again. Actually it does for files, but not for discs. Actually sometimes yes… but nobody knows when and why as it is not even consistent with the same disc. And sometimes it makes funny noises and is very slow with blu-ray discs. With too many of them to be the disc fault.

Conclusion

Not once I was thinking about myself as a “toiletologist”, because I just think too much about every single flaw of toilets as well. I never could understand why we – mankind – are unable to develop total toilet that always flushes everything, why we again and again put urinals so close together that you can use only 2 of 3 in the end, why we put toilet cubicles with legs on shiny reflective floor, not to mention various silly ways how to screw with automation of flushing, washing, drying or whatever.

Sometimes I want to scream “how could you do such a silly mistake?” But then I realize: “Man, it’s just software, it’s meant to be buggy (not that I agree that much :-)), the whole computer science is so much younger compared to the building industry – and look what they are able to do in a silly way every now and then. Not only on toilets, but when these are still not ‘debugged’ after all those millennia then what should we expect from the software, hm?”

The more I am happy for technology that really helps and doesn’t “think” that it will be the only thing I need to pay attention to. I have my own real life beyond technology too, after all.

About virgo47
Java Developer by profession in the first place. Gamer and amateur musician. And father too. Naive believer in brighter future. Step by step.

2 Responses to My last two years with technology

  1. Pingback: Making Windows 7/8 work again | Virgo's Naive Stories

  2. Pingback: Last three years with software | Virgo's Naive Stories

Leave a Reply

