AWS did it again, this time with Lightsail

I still remember how AWS (Amazon Web Services) re:Invent 2015 conference impressed me. AWS is extremely successful but they keep pushing innovations at us. I played with their smallest EC2 instances couple of times, considering whether or not I want my own server.

This year at re:Invent 2016 happening during this week Andy Jassy, CEO of Amazon Web Services, announced many new services in his keynote. One that resonated with me immediately was Lightsail. It is extremely affordable server with plenty to offer even in its weakest configuration. For $5 per month you’ll get 512MB of memory, 1 vCPU, 20GB SSD and 1TB data transfer. See also this blog post for more information.

With such a reasonable base price I decided to try it – by the way, the first month is free! My plans were nothing big, I actually just wanted to move my homepage there. But you have that flexibility of a Linux box ready for you anytime you fancy.

I spun my Lightsail instance in no time, choose AMI Linux just for a change (considering my Ubuntu preference) and with Google’s help I got nginx and PHP 7 up and running very quickly indeed. I used the in-browser SSH but because it’s not quite the console I like (but close, even Shift+PgUp/Down works as expected) I wanted to put my public key in ~/.ssh/authorized_keys. I didn’t know how to copy/paste it from my computer, but when you press Ctrl+Alt+Shift in the web SSH it will open a sidebar where you can paste anything into the clipboard and right-click will do the rest.

I really liked this experience, I like the price as well and in-browse SSH comes very handy when you are at a place where port 22 is blocked for whatever reason. (I’m sure it has something with compliance, but don’t want me to understand.) I’m definitely keeping my new pet server although I know that cattle is more common now. Especially in the cloud.

About virgo47
Java Developer by profession in the first place. Gamer and amateur musician. And father too. Naive believer in brighter future. Step by step.

Leave a Reply

